Camp Committee

Home » About Us » Camp Committee

Henry S. Jacobs Camp Committee

The camp committee is a living, vibrant Reform Jewish community that forms anew each summer. It stands as a model of excellence among both the Reform Camping Movement and the broader community of Jewish summer camps. Each summer, we see the significance of informal Jewish education and the role it plays in the formation of a strong Jewish identity.


More Information

Gary Lazarus

Camp Committee Chair


Anna Blumenfeld Herman

Camp Director

The purpose of the Camp Committee is to support, advise, provide feedback to, proactively plan, and provide additional resources toward the accomplishment of the major functions of Camp together with the Director.

The Camp Committee is made up of:
– Executive Committee
– Development Committee
– Facilities Committee
– Governance Committee
– Marketing Committee
– Alumni Association Chair
– Dream Street Board of Advisors Chair
– Task Forces (as appointed by Chair)
– Jewish Professional Advisor
– Camp Medical Advisor
– NFTY Southern President

The Camp Director works closely with the Camp Committee chair and is a member of all sub-committees.

The Camp Committee Chair leads both the Camp Committee and the Executive Committee and is a member of all sub-committees.

Committee members

Your content goes here. Edit or remove this text inline or in the module Content settings. You can also style every aspect of this content in the module Design settings and even apply custom CSS to this text in the module Advanced settings.

Past Chairs
  • Celeste Orkin
  • Julian Allenberg
  • Jerry Tanenbaum (1972-1982)
  • David Grishman (1983-1986)
  • Steve Orlansky (1987-1991)
  • Earle Schwarz (1991-1997)
  • Rich Lewis (1997-2001)
  • Larry Orlansky (2001-2003)
  • Joel Yuspeh Ashner (2003-2007)
  • Louis Good (2007-2011)
  • Danny Mansberg (2011-2015)
  • Linda Orlansky Posner (2015-2020)
  • Gary Lazarus (2020-present)